Day 10 – NaNoWriMo 2016

Day 7: 3,020

Day 8: 2,426

Day 9: 2,103

Day 10: 3,208

Total written: 24,383

Today’s writing session set a new record for words for this year’s NaNo. We’re 1/3 of the way through NaNo and I’m nearly halfway done with the NaNo word count… and I’ve only gotten through about 1/5 of my plot cards. At the rate I’m going, I could hit 100,000 words for Crafting the Badger’s Head. That would make it my longest NaNo ever and, I believe, my second longest rough draft. I think the first draft of Sentinels of Mysera was 120,000. Nothing else had come close.

I’m starting to get into a groove. I’m starting to figure out who Josin and Kirron are as characters. Gentos, my antagonist, is intriguing me, because he’s not exactly coming out how I envisioned. He’s better than I planned.

My plan of waking up at 4 a.m. to write has stayed steady every day so far. I’m really enjoying that quiet time first thing in the morning. The catch is that I have to get to bed early enough in the evening, or else I have splitting headaches by noon.

How are my fellow Wrimos doing? Smooth sailing, or is it a little bumpy?

2 thoughts on “Day 10 – NaNoWriMo 2016

  1. I’m on the bumpy road, right now. The bumpy, muddy, dead-end road, I think. About 5,000 words in, and stalled out. I’m having a tough time reaching the point that my story feels like MY story, instead of something I picked up out of some other writer’s garbage.

    Like

Leave a Reply

