Day 7 – NaNoWriMo 2016

Day 3: 2203

Day 4: 1772

Day 5: 2600

Day 6: 1975

Day 7 (so far): 1667

Total written: 15,293

Yesterday marked the end of Daylight Savings for most of the USA. I’m not sure if anyone else out there observes this ridiculous ritual other than the U.S., but I went around my house and reset all my clocks that didn’t automatically set themselves.

There is, however, one perk to Daylight Savings in November. Since we fall back an hour on the clock, most people sleep in that ‘extra’ hour. I decided to try something different this week. I normally get up at about 5:00 a.m. on weekdays, but since my body thinks that 4:00 a.m. is the wake up time, I decided that I would just start getting up at 4 in the morning.

I’m a morning person, so this isn’t as hard for me as it is for some people. I rolled out of bed with the alarm, got dressed, got a cup of coffee (which I’d prepared the night before and set the timer on so there was a pot ready when I was), and sat down to write.

When my husband stumbled out of bed at 5:30, I checked my word count. I had, ironically, written the exact word quota for NaNo: 1,667. Not only that, but for the first time this month, I felt like I really had some good story. I’ve really been struggling with my characters and my plot, but this morning, things were clicking and moving along. I liked what I wrote this morning.

I’m not sure if it was that motivational start to the morning, the early cups of hot coffee, or maybe just that hour and a half of quiet time that was all my own, but I’ve felt super jazzed and productive all day. I’ve gotten a lot done and my attitude just seems better than normal, especially for a Monday!

So while my original plan was just to do the 4 a.m. wake up the three days a week when I have less time in the morning, I might just get up at 4 every morning and use that time to write for NaNo and beyond. My time during the day is still pretty spotty and my personal word goal remains at 2000 words a day, which I’ve done pretty good at hitting.

How goes the NaNo any of the rest of you? And do you live somewhere outside the U.S. that observes Daylight Savings (because I’m curious if anyone else has to suffer it)? Let me know in the comments!

 

2 thoughts on “Day 7 – NaNoWriMo 2016

Leave a Reply

