Day 2 – NaNoWriMo 2016

Words written: 2350

Total written: 5076

My plan this morning was to wake up at 4:15 a.m., pour myself a cup of coffee, and write for an hour or so before anyone else in my house was up and requesting breakfast.

Something about best laid plans?

Woke up to my husband’s alarm at 5:15 a.m. Apparently I slept through my alarm and shut it of in my sleep or something similar, because I have no memory of the alarm.

Thank goodness for VeggieTales (or ‘a MooMee’ which is toddler-ese for ‘movie’) to keep my twins preoccupied mid-morning so I could write like the wind. Thank goodness for Mythbuster re-runs to keep my husband occupied in the evening so I could finish getting my words.

My personal goal had been to hit 5000 today. I’m already a day ahead of schedule, which is perfect.

Now, despite what the numbers say, it hasn’t been the easiest writing day. Most of what had come out is not something I’m happy with. I feel almost rusty. Like a gear that sat too long without being oiled and moved. It occurred to me that I haven’t really written much since finishing Battle of the Bargaws revision earlier this year, and that was different than rough draft writing anyway. I haven’t written anything truly new since finishing Noontide Green last NaNoWriMo. It stands to reason that I’m out of practice.

Plus the characters in Crafting the Badger’s Head are all fresh and new. I’m still learning their quirks and their traits and figuring out just what makes them tick.

It’s not my best quality of writing, but it’s writing. I’ll find my groove soon enough, if my previous NaNos are any indication.

And let that be a piece of advice for any of you NaNoers out there who may be struggling. Just write. Don’t worry about quality. Don’t worry about your characters. You can always come back and fix it later. For now, tell the story. Get the pictures in your head down in black and white. Ramble on. Daydream while typing. Let your protagonist and antagonist meet up for tea and chess prior to becoming enemies. Whatever. Just write.

Perfection doesn’t happen on the first draft.

Leave a Reply

