Day 1 – NaNoWriMo 2016

And they’re off!

My favorite time of the year officially started 12 hours ago. NaNoWriMo is underway. Thirty days of writing like mad to meet the goal of 50,000 words of new, raw fiction (if you’re a traditionalist like me, that is). This is NaNo #10 for me, and hopefully win #10 as well.

I love NaNoWriMo and the spirit of adventure and imagination that takes over those dedicated souls who aspire to call themselves authors. I was able to get together with a few of our local group of Wrimos, the Moose Writers (in honor of our faithful mascots, the NaNoWriMoose), over the weekend for some last minute planning and prep, as well as some good laughs. I’d already spent most of October doing my plot cards, maps, language, and world building.

This morning, it was butt-in-chair as soon as my 6-year-old was out the door to school. I wrote hard until the twins woke up, and I’ve been pecking away at the words over the course of the morning. As a general rule, I have a personal daily goal of 2000 words, which is 333 more than the recommended daily count. I like giving myself that little bit of a buffer, in case of rough days, illness, computer troubles, or whatever else life could throw at me.

Challenges this year are plenty, with twin 2-year-olds, a 6-year-old with reading homework and an upcoming eye surgery, along with family visits from both sides of the family. Oh, and some holiday that involves thankfulness and turkey somewhere in there.

My goal is 2000 words in the mornings. Tuesdays and Thursdays will be a little easier, because my daughter has a ride to school, so I can let the twins sleep in and write in the quiet morning hours. Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays will be a little more tricky, because everyone wakes up early and remains up. While I could potentially peck out a couple hundred words over the course of a morning, there’s no telling what mischief my twins will get into while I’m distracted. I’m leaning towards waking up an hour early on those days, just to give myself that hour of quiet to write. I can, on really good mornings, hit 2000 words in an hour.

Are you writing this month? Let me know what you’re working on in the comments below!

 

Leave a Reply

