Calamity – 2016 Reading Challenge

Memo to self: Do not try to read a self improvement book which gives you all sorts of exercises to analyze your life when you’re working through a revision course that is also giving you exercises to analyze a fictional life that you’ve written…

WAY too much left brain work for this girl, thank you very much…

So, Seven Habits of Highly Effective People is going on a “To read later” list when I’m not eyeball deep in a revision course that’s left me mentally numb at the end of some weeks.

Yeah, it’s been a rough couple of weeks. Progress has been made, but… oi…

A little alert in my email inbox gave me a welcome distraction, which is bringing us to the point of this. My library told me that my reserved copy of the ebook version of Calamity by Brandon Sanderson was available, so I downloaded it to my iPod’s Kindle app.


Since Calamity came out recently, this is checking off the category of “A book published in 2016.”

Once again, the story follows David, a member of the Reckoners, who’s job it is to take out the Epics who are basically all supervillains. No superheros in this worlds. Only ordinary people and big, evil baddies.

Except it’s never that black and white, is it?

In Ildithia (formerly known as Atlanta), David and his team are on the hunt of a former ally gone bad, and David himself is experiencing some bad side effects from an event that happened in Firefight. Once again, we’re subjected to David’s terrible analogies (i.e. The sun peeked over the horizon like the head of a giant radioactive manatee.), Cody’s lies about his Scottish heritage, guns, and of course, the typical Sanderson twists. I caught one of his twists early this time… and got steamrolled by another that I never saw coming.

I’m trying to figure out how much to say about this book without giving away events in Steelheart and Firefight. So much of what happened in those first two books plays into Calamity. All in all, another fun series by Sanderson in a world both familiar and alien, with characters who are real and varied.

I’m not sure what I’ll be reading next for the challenge. Not self improvement, I can promise that much. I’m just about to head into the final phase of HTRYN, which involves actually making changes to the manuscript I’ve spent the last 16 weeks ripping to shreds on worksheets. So whatever I read will have to be something I can enjoy.

What are you reading?

5 thoughts on “Calamity – 2016 Reading Challenge

  1. I’m reading The Ghost Bride right now. I’m probably the last person left on earth who hasn’t read it already. And then I went through a week or two where I just kept running into that tradition over and over again. It’s a really well done world and the atmosphere is about perfect.

    Like

Leave a Reply

