The Passion Planner – Writing Tools

Last year when I made my goals for 2015, one of the things I mentioned that I was using to help me was the Passion Planner. I had stumbled across the Passion Planner at the tail end of 2014 thanks to a link on Facebook. The Passion Planner website had free PDFs to print out so you could try the planner and my initial testing of the Planner proved positive (isn’t alliteration fun!). I picked up my free full PDF of the Passion Planner and gave it a whirl.

While I didn’t meet all of 2015’s goals, I saw a lot more positive momentum towards them. I was definitely more productive with my writing, plus it helped me stay on track with all my housekeeping, wife/mother duties, and everything else. Ever since the twins were born I’ve become increasingly aware that my memory is not what it used to be. My Passion Planner has become a way for me to remember all the things I need to do and keep on task.

Here’s a breakdown of the Planner.

First, there’s an exercise to help you find what thing would make the most positive change in your life. Something you want. Your “passion”. You break down what you want into smaller goals and assign dates to them.


Next the Passion Planner has a big, month-at-a-glance calendar with slots for your Personal and Work goals, among other things.


Then there’s the weekly and daily breakdown. You choose your focus for the week, and even for each day. You prioritize your tasks, write down your errands, and have a little extra writing space for anything else that needs written. One thing I love about the Passion Planner is that it is part journal, giving you space to doodle (if you’re a doodler, unlike me) and write good memories. I got some multi-colored pens to use in my planning, assigning different colors for different tasks. If you follow Passion Planner on Twitter, Facebook, etc., they regularly post pictures of how others are using their planners, so you can get inspired beyond simple black and white if it tickles your fancy.


At the end of every month, the Passion Planner dedicates a couple pages to looking over the past month and evaluating how the month went and how much progress you made towards your goals. It provides a great way to reflect and prepare to launch into the new month, always improving.

There’s also a spot between June and July where you go back over your big goals from the beginning of the year and tweak them as necessary.

The Passion Planner website offers a free PDF of the full planner on their site, so it’s pretty easy to print it off and start using it right away. I visited my dad at the print shop and got this year’s planner printed and bound. Last year I used the full 8 1/2 by 11 version, which worked great except it was too big for me to carry around. This year, we shrunk the pages down somewhat so I have a smaller planner that can fit in my purse, so it makes it even easier for me to jot down those little ideas as I’m out and about.

Of course, the Passion Planner team has very nice planners in several different colors and 2 different sizes if you’re not interested in printing out a PDF.

Any of you ever tried the Passion Planner? Do you have another planner you use or do you survive without? Let me know in the comments below.

One thought on “The Passion Planner – Writing Tools

  1. Pingback: BotB Revision Update #4 | A Mind With a View

Leave a Reply

