NaNoWriMo Halftime Report

If you’ve visited my site any time in the last 15 days, you may have noticed a new word count tracker over there on the right sidebar. That’s my official word count for NaNoWriMo 2015 and I’m pleased to say it has been steadily growing.

NaNohalfway

At the start of the month, I set a goal of writing an average of 2000 words a day in order to give myself that much needed buffer that always seems to come in handy during some point in the month. So far, I am 5 days ahead of schedule, so the goal of a buffer is definitely complete. I have written every day, though Day 12 was only about 250 words because of an almost crippling headache, but I still managed a little something even in the midst of that.

For the first time in 9 years, I’m also not in danger of running out of plot. Currently, I have used 18 of my plot cards and have 24 remaining. I’m averaging about 1800 words per card, which makes it possible that the final draft for Noontide Green will be 75,000 words, which would make it my longest rough draft since the original draft of Sentinels of Mysera (which I think was a smidgen over 100,000 words). Most of my NaNo drafts tend to hit right around the 50,000 word mark (except for The Island Wars, which I haven’t finished…), so I’m pretty pleased with this month’s progress.

The best part is that I’ve reached the part of the story that I’m really excited to write. The best scenes are still to come, so I have a lot to look forward to over the rest of the month.

The downside to being so excited to work on my NaNo is that I still have an epilogue to write to finish off Vera Silvertooth’s story in Redwall Survivor. I’m having a hard time pulling my mind out of Noontide Green long enough to make any progress in that department. I may need to take a day or two off from NaNo to get that done, which is another good reason I have a buffer to my word count.

Are you participating in NaNoWriMo? How’s it going? Are you enjoying your story or is it fighting you every step of the way? Let me know in the comments.

Leave a Reply

