The Three Musketeers 

Well, that took longer than expected… When I picked up The Three Musketeers by Alexandre Dumas a month ago, I honestly didn’t think it would take me almost a whole month to read the darn thing.

I read The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas years ago and enjoyed it immensely. I thought The Three Musketeers would be the same.

Now, in defense of the book, it had plenty of enjoyable parts. The interplay between the characters is well done and as far as antagonists go, Lady de Winter is top notch.

Unfortunately, early on in the book, I hit a snag. I really hate infidelity, both in fiction and reality, and almost every romantic relationship in The Three Musketeers involved a party being currently married. D’Artagnan and Madame Bonancieux. The Queen and the Duke of Buckingham. Porthos and who knows how many… and those weren’t even all of them. As soon as I hit a few of those, my interest waned. It’d be one thing if there was only one character, but since almost the entire set of main characters was involved in one way or another, well, it made the story very difficult for me.

I liked the characters other than that, though I have to admit that I kind of expected the cardinal to be more malicious that he seemed, though Lady de Winter was a lot more wicked than I expected. I had some preconceived notions thanks to the 1993 movie done by Disney. Lady de Winter is downplayed in the movie, while Tim Curry plays one epic cardinal.

In any case, that takes care of “A book more than 100 years old.” I’ll have another review up shortly for the next book in the challenge, Dead Heat by Patricia Briggs, which is “A book published this year.”

Leave a Reply

