Steelheart

Brandon Sanderson is one of my favorite authors. Several years ago, he was chosen to finish Robert Jordan’s Wheel of Time series. Now, I had been reading Wheel of Time for years so I had my doubts about this unknown guy finishing this epic series.

I shouldn’t have doubted. In my opinion, Brandon Sanderson is a better author than Robert Jordan. His Mistborn series is one of my favorite series now. I’m constantly amazed by the angles he takes in his books and the magic systems he invents.

That said, when I saw one of the books on the 2015 Reading Challenge was “A book from an author you love that you haven’t read yet” I knew I had to pick up one of Brandon Sanderson’s latest books. So I grabbed Steelheart.

Steelheart is a bit different than some of the other books I’ve read by Brandon Sanderson. Elantris, Mistborn, Warbreaker, and many of his others are generally more of the fantasy genre. Steelheart is a bit more sci-fi. I’m not a huge fan of reading sci-fi, so I wasn’t sure how I’d like this.

Well, Brandon Sanderson delivered again. I could hardly put the book down for the 24 hour period it took me to finish it. Not only was it brilliantly written, but it was funny. The main character, David, is constantly using metaphors. Very, very bad metaphors. I read a couple of them to my husband and could barely get through them because I was giggling so hard. Like “the sensation felt like an unbalanced washing machine filled with a hundred epileptic chimpanzees.”

Heh, yeah, I’m still giggling over that one.

Anyway, Steelheart takes the saying “Absolute power corrupts absolutely” and applies it to superheros. What if all the superheros used their powers for their own gain? Or essentially, they all became supervillians.

All of them.

David sets out to join a resistance group that is taking out the Epics (as Sanderson has called them). He’s specifically out to kill Steelheart, who rules over what used to be Chicago. He’s seen Steelheart, who is bullet proof and practically invincible, bleed.

The interplay between the characters is fantastic. David is a quick thinker and a bit obsessed with killing Steelheart, but you sympathize with him and understand. And Cody is a hoot!

Once again, the ending caught me by surprise. Brandon Sanderson always pulls these brilliant endings out of his pocket that you didn’t expect. I thought I’d figured out the big key to Steelheart’s weakness right off the bat, but I was wrong. I figured out one specific thing about one specific character, but Sanderson slipped a couple more by me.

Lucky for me, the sequel is out already.

However, before I get to pick up Firefight, I have decided to tackle “A book that scares you.” I have chosen Bram Stoker’s Dracula.

2 thoughts on “Steelheart

  1. Pingback: Firefight | A Mind With a View

  2. Pingback: Calamity – 2016 Reading Challenge | A Mind With a View

Leave a Reply

