The Silmarillion – A 2015 Reading Challenge Review

So, take that! Finally finished The Silmarillion by J.R.R. Tolkien. This was my “Book you started but never finished” for my 2015 Reading Challenge. The book kicked my butt for the better part of the month. It took me over 2 weeks to finish it.

To be fair, it wasn’t completely the book’s fault. One of my twins came down with a little respiratory virus, which she gave to me, then to her big sister and finally to her twin. Big sis and twin are still recovering. Three sick kids and a less than 100% momma make for rough reading.

Now, I’m a big Lord of the Rings fan, though I jumped on that boat a tad late, because I finished reading Fellowship of the Ring the DAY I saw that movie in the theaters, which, if memory serves right, was December 2001. Finished the full series while living in Ghana, and I know I read The Hobbit at some point. My husband and I got married with LOTR music for walking down the aisle. Sadly, he refuses to play LOTR’s Trivial Pursuit with me anymore, though the LOTR chess sets, Monopoly, and Risk boards get occasional use.

But, wow, am I digressing….

Ahem.

The Silmarillion started out REALLY slow, documenting the creation of the world of Middle Earth and following much of the history of the Elves. While it was interesting to see a greater scope of the world and the religion that Tolkien created, I struggled until I hit Chapter 16: Of Maeglin. Things picked up after that, though I still had a tough time for most of the book. I enjoyed the tale of Beren and Luthien, along with a few others.

I was a bit disappointed that there wasn’t more about Celebrimbor, since just prior to this I beat the video game Shadow of Mordor. I was actually hoping to get some more information about some of the artifacts from the game, but there wasn’t much at all. Though I think I’ll have a greater appreciation for The Lord of the Rings when I re-read it somewhere down the road. Not to mention I have a much greater idea of the amount of world building Tolkien did for his world.

However, I’m really glad I’m done with it!

I’ll be starting Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice next for my challenge. I think this will check off “A book by a female author,” though it could be my classic romance as well. I’m still waiting on Gone With the Wind for my romance, but it appears to be checked out at the library.

Are you participating in the 2015 Reading Challenge and what have you read lately? Do you have a recommendation for a book with a number in the title or a book written by someone under 30?

2 thoughts on “The Silmarillion – A 2015 Reading Challenge Review

Leave a Reply

